Online shopping has become increasingly popular. Why do people shop online? What are the environmental problems caused by this trend? Give reasons for your answers and provide examples from y

People nowadays tend to shop online more frequently as a result of increased convenience and a wider choice with more affordability. This trend is leading to some problems for the environment due to the impacts caused by the delivery and disposal of these goods. It is first necessary to identify why people are choosing to shop on the Internet. If you ask any young person, they will tend to say that websites can provide much greater convenience as they are able to shop from the comfort of their own home. These sites also allow the ability to compare prices and to find the best deals among many different providers. I often find myself spending a couple of hours per week scrolling through different shopping sites, comparing prices and looking for unexpected bargains. While the advent of Internet shopping has certainly brought advantages to the consumer, it has had some detrimental impacts on the environment. The most noticable problem has been the increase in emissions caused by the delivery of all the goods being bought. Each item which is purchased online needs to find its way to the end user, typically using land and air transport. These methods are notorious for the carbon dioxide which they produce and are contributing to climate change. Not only does online shopping cause increased emissions, it also contributes to the massive quantities of waste as a result of fast fashion. It is becoming more common for people to buy items online which are cheap and to only wear them a few times, discarding them into landfill after a short lifespan. This process is adding to the pressure on nations to find places to hold all the waste which people are producing. In summary, as people shop more and more online, there are indeed some benefits to this trend such as the ability to compare prices and also the convenience to the customers. However, the issues of increased emissions and resulting waste are ones which we should not overlook.