online learning vs classroom learning

Under the outbreak of Covid 19 pandemic, the world has witnessed major changes in several aspects of life, including education. Pupils are now required to study online at home so as to avoid mass gathering, which can consequently result in the spread of coronavirus. While the present and traditional methods of learning are similar in some ways, they differ in terms of flexibility and interaction between the teachers and students. Obviously, there are certain common points between the two ways of learning. First of all, both online and traditional learning require a great amount of work. Furthermore, giving and receiving feedback is crucial in both environments. Last but not least, assignments are a huge part of the learning experience. As regards to the flexibility of online classes, the lessons can take place anywhere, at any time. In particular, students only need an electronic device such as a laptop, computer or mobile phone that is connected to the Internet to get access to the courses. Therefore, they can save the time that is supposed to be spent on commuting and thus, adjust their timeline to suit their daily tasks better. Besides, as the online sessions can be rewatched, students do not have to worry about their absence. Regarding human interaction during e-learning lessons, teachers and students can communicate via virtual lectures and dialogues in a virtual environment. An example of this is that people unmute their mics and turn on their cameras to discuss in classes on online platforms like Zoom or Microsoft Teams. Nevertheless, since teachers can not keep a close eye on them, many students tend to do their own task instead of focusing on their study. On the contrary, pupils have to go to a specific location when studying offline. Hence, they have to devote their time to dressing up and travelling, which leaves them less spare time to spend on other activities such as some morning exercises or even breakfast. Moreover, traditional classes are likely to have a fixed schedule so they do not offer as much flexibility to participants. Also, the students may find it difficult to follow the curriculum contents if they are absent since the lessons are hardly recorded. However, face-to-face interaction is the key factor that makes traditional learning more efficient than the other method. During the courses, students are able to get an instant answer to their questions as they can directly ask the teacher rather than finding information on the Internet. Another benefit is that teachers can pay attention to all of the pupils in the class since they can not turn off their camera and pretend as if it is a network issue. Thus, the quality of their study can be guaranteed. To sum up, it is apparent that both e-learning and face-to-face learning bring about both pros and cons. While online courses can bring about convenience to the students, traditional classes may boost the efficiency of their study better. From my perspective, each person should consider the plus points and drawbacks of each way in order to choose which one suits them best.