ONLINE COMMUNICATION VS FACE-TO-FACE COMMUNICATION

There are many different ways of communication; furthermore, one should consider the similarities and differences between them before choosing the way he/she communicate with others. While online communication and face-to-face communication share some similarities, they also have some essential differences. There are some similarities between online communication and face-to-face communication. First of all, the biggest similarity between them is the number of people one can interact. Both communication ways have the limits on the number of people a person can interact. Moreover, time is another similarity between these communication ways. A person must spend some time while communicating in both ways. On the other hand, there are some essential differences between online communication and face-to-face communication. Firstly, use of body language is the biggest difference between them. A person can use body language in face-to-face communication; however, one cannot use body language in the written way of online communication and a person can use body language in some oral ways of online communication. For instance, one cannot use body language in telephonic conversation, but he/she can use it in video calls which have become popular among many people. Secondly, type of interaction is another difference between them. All face-to-face communication is oral; however, as I mentioned above, online communication can be written or oral. To sum up, online communication and face-to-face communication have both similarities and differences. The similarities are the number of people one can interact and time; the differences are body language and the type of interaction. In addition, these similarities and differences should be taken into account before choosing the communication way.