Today people don't use much public transport. What are the reasons for that and how they can be encouraged to do so?

There are lot of developments have made in public transportation sector in the last 20 years. Still, most of the people prefer to use their private vehicles. There are plethora of reason behind it, which I will describe in the subsequent paragraphs. The first and main reason is that no security in public transports. Buses and trains are not safe specially for the women and the families because there are many rape incidents happened in it and theft possibilities are high. In this way, people afraid to travel by buses and trains. The second reason is that poor services and bad conditions of vehicles. Some people do not keep trains and buses clean, they throw the waste over there and make it worse condition. Others individuals, who are hygienic they avoid to travel in the common vehicles. Moreover, Due to outdated and bad infrastructure of transportations, people prefer to travel in the private conveyance. The first way to encourage people to use public transportation is set affordable rates of transports. If the government will set cheap price of common vehicles, its automatically push people to use common buses, trains and cabs. Second is provide more facilities to individuals like food services, air conditioning, flexible seats to sleep and many more. So that, people feel more comfortable and always prefer to travel in public transports. To encapsulate, if government will keep updated transport sector and provide all good services so that people get travel more comfortable, then surely people will use it as first priority.