Online communication is becoming more popular than face-to-face communication in many companies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, direct communication is becoming more and more popular in many workplaces, which means face-to-face communication is being replaced gradually. In my perspective, the merits of this trend are overshadowed by their drawbacks. On the one hand, there would be a number of downsides of online interaction. To begin with, communcation through the internet might lack emotion or be misinterpreted easily, which means it can lead to the conflict between employess. For instance, an email from one employee to another may be written in the way that makes another employee feel uncomfortable or maybe disregards. This situation may not happen if the communication is taken place in person, with a friendly tone. Besides, online interaction can be interrupted sometimes because of the poor connection, which means the workers will omit important information during the work process, this might put the bad impact on the work productivity and work performance. Nevertheless, I personally believe that the downsides of online communication are overweigh by its benefits. Firstly, online interaction is much easier for workers keep in touch as well as communicate together, regardless of geographic locations. For example, a headquater manager can hold a meeting with all branch managers in different cities or countries, it can save the company a lot of money that would be required for everyone attend the meeting in person. In addition, workers can be flexible in working place and time, which means they can work at the place and time that they feel comfortable, it can increase the efficiency, especially during the Covid-19 epidemic, online communication can help them work on schedule and effectively without affecting on their health. To sum up, it seems to me that the potential advantages of online interaction are more likely significant than the possible detrimental.