What rigTopic: Drunk Driving Question: Do you think that it is wrong for people to drink alcohol and then drive? Do you think they should be punished?

It is sad but true that the number of road accidents is increasing nowadays and the statistic keeps rising. Many innocent people die on the roads every day. It is not a new thing for us anymore. One of the major reasons that lead to road accidents would be drinking and driving. That is definitely wrong for those who drink alcohol and then drive and they should be punished. First of all, they are wrong in doing so because they are not responsible. People who drink and then drive are not concerned about other people’s safety. Those who are drunk are unable to drive with a clear mind. For example, they may think that they are driving in the correct lane but actually they are not. Such action are more than enough to put other drivers in danger. Secondly, this is such an irresponsible activity because they do not appreciate precious life. Those who are drunk cannot access or react quickly to any bad situation that suddenly arises on the roads such as bad roads conditions and so on. Obviously, all of us can see what the outcome can be. One car crash with another one as well as the drivers may simply lose their life in a blink of an eye. In this case, the government has an important role to play. Since drunk drivers are a very great danger to themselves and to other road-users, therefore they should be punished. One way to do this is through law enforcement. The authorities may fine them heavily and give them mandatory jail sentences. The fine may become a burden for them and they dare not break the law when driving on the roads. Once again, government intervention is necessary in this case. Another way that can be carried out by the government would be to suspend their licenses for a certain period. Driving is an essential activity for some people. Therefore, such a punishment is very helpful in making the people aware of road safety because they are not willing to let their licenses be suspended for such a long time. In short, it is absolutely wrong for people to drink alcohol and then drive. So, they themselves must hold the responsibility by receiving the punishment according to the law.