Online communication is becoming more common than face-to-face interaction. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days more and more people use the internet as a way of communication rather than direct interaction. Personally, I believe this phenomenon is far more disadvantageous. It seems clear that online communication eradicates the limits imposed by the physical world. In terms of working, it is easy for managers to carry out their own business despite the location. Moreover, the company can use meeting appliances like Zoom or Skype for seeking new potential clients without ever meeting each other. In social life, social networking sites as Facebook create opportunities for people to interact through their computers. A person can make new friends with people sharing the same interests from the other side of the hemisphere and find support when undergoing difficulties. However, communicating online likely presents more unanticipated consequences. This would lead to separation due to family members spending less time together in face-to-face conversations. Therefore, children in this type of family become lack social skills and are unlikely to express their ideas as their peers. In addition, acquaintances that connect with us may not be who people think they are. They may take advantage of our personal information and commit crimes or send blackmail. Particularly, adolescents may be susceptible to this danger because they are unable to cope with this situation. As a result, they may be physically and mentally damaged. In conclusion, although online communication is the optimal way of connecting in the modern era, I firmly believe not all of the outcomes of it are positive.