In some countries, young people taking a year gap to work or travel between finishing high school and starting university. What are advantages and disadvantages?

Teenagers take a gap in the middle of their graduating time from school and initiate their next step of study, in some countries. They can see other places while they travel also they can get experience if they work however there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there are some benefits to take a year break after finishing school. Firstly, if someone work during their pause time they would gain experience. Most importantly, that person can gather part of their university costs. For example, my older brother took a year gap between the time he finished school in order to have some of university expenses. Secondly, traveling is also good in spare time. As one of my friends went to turkey when he graduated from school. Although it costs him a little bit money, he learned new language and fresh his mind. On the other hand, beside above upsides there are also some downsides to be considered. One major problem is that when someone take 12 months gap during that time he/she leave studying. Resulting in to forget lots of their lessons. For instance, one of my classmates took a year gap now he is struggling with lots of easy subjects. Another problem, even though while traveling we learn lots of things, it can cost lots of money when we go traveling we spend lots of money including our university costs. Which has resulted to force us to leave studying. In conclusion, while taking a year gap is good for our experience, it can lead us to leave university.