Online Communication at the Workplace

Today, people rely heavily on their mobile phones, iPads, laptops and desktop computers to communicate with their family, friends and/or colleagues. This is true even before this COVID-19 pandemic. Although, it is true that it magnified to a higher level the dependence of the people on this modern technology. When it comes to the new normal at work place, whether it be on site or at the comforts of one's home, online communication plays a vital role. One is expected to have a mobile phone, a laptop and an internet connection, especially when given work-related assignments and tasks. A lot of social media platforms may be used for communicating with office mates. It may be accessed with just one click. Among these platforms include but not limited to Facebook Messenger, Viber, Telegram, Discord, Zoom and Google Meet. An office may also conduct online meetings in the aforementioned applications to check the accomplishments of each employee. However, as much as these assist us in our new lives, some people think that more people are becoming isolated due to online communication. For instance, when one attends a meeting, an attendee may or may not show one's face, converse and give opinions and ideas unless asked by the management. Finally, in my opinion, online communication is very helpful especially in today's situation where social gatherings are greatly discouraged by the government. In order to satisfy the needs of work, one must attend meetings or trainings or workshops or seminars through online conferencing. Online editing is also possible big thanks to Google Docs. In contrast, workloads are becoming heavier due to the fact that your bosses may give instructions at any time of the day and any day of the week. In conclusion, online communication at work allows people to talk, see and hear people while staying at home. However, the management should know the boundaries in using these platforms for work purposes.