Nowadays, many people drive to work or school instead of walking, cycling or using public transport. Does this trend have more advantages or disadvantages?

Although beneficial in many aspects, eco friendly means of transportation such as biking, taking a walk or using public modes fade into insignificance when compared with the convenience offered by private vehicles. It is perhaps because of this comfort that people in the contemporary world prefer their personal cars when commuting which in my opinion is more detrimental compared to the plus points. On the downside, it is common knowledge that over-reliance on private vehicles may take its toll on both the environment and people. The most irreparable damage which should be mostly blamed on soaring numbers of passenger cars is gridlock in densely-populated cities. This issue arising from people’s propensity for their personal cars triggers a ripple effect by causing a number of other attendant problems apart from traffic. For instance, air and noise pollution is the ultimate byproduct of congested streets packed with daily commuters who are only concerned about their own benefit and ease. Moreover, compared with walking and cycling, opting for one’s personal transport encourages a sedentary lifestyle with minimum movement. Despite the negatives, the upside of this popular mode of transportation should not be overlooked. Firstly, what cannot be ensured in public areas such as the subway or bus is one’s privacy which remains intact in a car. This is simply because drivers have all the personal space they need and their liberty is not restricted. The freedom is exemplified by how freely they can carry on a telephone conversation without fearing any eavesdroppers. Secondly, unlike public means of transport, commuters do not have to waste their valuable time waiting for the next bus or train. In simple terms, cars are more convenient. To conclude, while I am convinced that private cars are comfortable and protect one’s privacy, there is no denying that they impinge on the environment and people’s lifestyle. For these reasons I believe that using them frequently is harmful.