ONE WAY TO REDUCE THE PROBLEM OF TRAFFIC CONGESTION IS BY INCREASING THE TAX ON VEHICLE. DO YOU THINK IT IS A FEASIBLE SOLUTION

By increasing the tax on private transports, is one of the possible solution to decrease the issue of increased traffic. In my opinion, it is not a brilliant idea to increase the tax on common vehicles. The facts will be stated in the following paragraphs. Firstly, by increasing tax on private vehicles, it will hurt the pocket of common people living in the society. Nowdays, every middle class family owns atleast one vehicle for daily commute to their workplaces. By increasing taxes, along with the hike of petrol prices, will increase the burden on people and will elevate their stress levels. Moreover, automobile industry accounts for 25% of the GDP. This practice will reduce the sales of vehicles and it will in turn affect the economy of the country. To continue with, rather than implementing taxes on vehicles, government should improve the quality and quantity of public vehicles. For instance, by providing facility of public vehicles at the peak office hours can reduce the trouble of traffic congestion as well as will promote healthy enviornments. In addition to that, government should bring into picture the use of alternatives to private vehicles like promoting the practice of car-pool, where four people living in a same place can commute on a single vehicle. It will reduce the traffic to a great extent. In a nutshell, increasing taxes will not only make common people suffer and will affect the government in the other way. Increasing tariff is only an option if the government is in the position to reciprocate for the same and cover the needs of people, then only this transition will be convenient in coming future.