One way to reduce the problem of traffic congestion is by increasing the tax on private vehicles. Do you think this is a feasible solution?

It is believed that, by increasing the road tax for private vehicles, might help reduce the traffic crowding problem. In my opinion, i think this will be one solution to reduce the growing traffic problems. This essay will further justify my opinion. To begin with, in order to reduce the volume of the traffic crowding government should impose higher taxes on individual transport owners. To explain further, by this it will become difficult and unaffordable for the middle class people to purchase a vehicle and pay huge taxes. Therefore it will become mandatory for an individual to shift towards sustainable options like government transports. For example, it is observed in many cities after an increase in the road tax, people opted to sell their cars as they are unable to pay the high taxes and availed public transport as their source. This has reduced traffic issue to a large extent. Furthermore, by improving reliability and quality of public transport may also help reduce the traffic congestion. To elaborate, by increasing the public vehicle at peak time may reduce the traffic issues. For instance, my neighbour who has to travel 2 hrs for office, purchased a vehicle so that he can reach fast. Thus by allocating buses and trains at a short span may encourage them to use the public vehicles. Thereby, people can avoid the travel situations as well as the air pollution to an extent. In conclusion, by imposing the high taxes on the private vehicle, may increase the capacity of the public transport reducing the traffic crowding problems. Also, the government should follow certain steps by implementing various methods to tackle the menace of traffic congestion in cities.