It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that lifelong sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views.

Some people believe that death sentence is a better punishment for all the evil crimes and there are others, who believe that life imprisonment is the superior way of discouraging and punishing them. The essay below discuss both the views. On the one hand, criminals often deserve death deterrent due to the intensity of crimes they committed for. Certain crimes are intolerable and the criminals in those cases deserves capital punishment and this will further help in protecting the victim. For example, recently supreme court of India imposed death sentence on a person who raped a 5-year-old girl which is intolerable. Additionally, death penalty is considered a good deterrent in order to create fear in other people who thought of committing the same kind of crime. By observing the situations and the kind of punishments that are being imposed, people will change and reverse their decisions. For instance, in USA the person who attacked blacks was sentenced to death and from then we haven’t noticed any kind of similar attacks. On the other hand, lifelong imprisonment must be imposed in order to make the criminal repent. Years of jail makes a person to feel regret and there are higher chances they will not repeat these crimes again. For instance, recently through a special program with criminals in HBO, people have noticed how the criminals are feeling bad for the crimes they committed and also for the punishment that they are undergoing. Moreover, lifelong sentence gives another chance for the criminals in changing their life’s as well as the society. Through this kind of punishment there will be a long-term benefit for both the criminal and society. To conclude, judicial system in every country will impose the penalty based on the offence which the criminal is committed. However, the punishment may always end up in benefitting all the stake holders in the society.