Only 20% of Tech Jobs are Held by Women. What problems do women face that prevent them from getting these jobs and what must be done to change this situation?

Most of the tech jobs these days are being held by men and women constitute for less than a quarter percent. This is mainly due to stereotyping and lack of support from the family. However, this can be changed by framing certain set of rules and also by motivating women from childhood. To begin with, the foremost problem that is averting women in getting the tech jobs are due to stereotyping. IT industry leads and some part of the society mostly are in the impression that woman cannot take up complicated tasks, they leave early, and they cannot manage working shifts and deadlines. For instance, we often notice with banking customer care that whenever something important like funds transfer is not working, the higher officials are always assigning these tickets to only men. Additionally, encouragement from family also plays a crucial role in women taking up tech jobs. There is no motivation from the family, and once a woman gets married, they are asked to look after their husband and children. For example, in a recent survey we have noticed that most of the Indian parents want their daughter to be at home after completion of studies. On the other hand, government and managements of the companies must frame some guidelines that should provide equal employment opportunities to women as men. Every company should have a rule that should be like, a minimum of 40% employment need to be provided to women. Moreover, motivation should be provided to women starting from childhood. They need to be aware of the importance of these jobs and mentors should teach skills accordingly. For instance, a story on girl child who was given proper encouragement at childhood, had opposed their parent’s decision of sitting in home after studies was seen in the tech journal recently and she now end up doing tech job. To conclude, despite having problems like stereotyping and supporting, women should be always encouraged by supporting them with proper guidelines and motivation. This not only helps them individually but also improves a country’s pride.