With the popularity of English growing by the day it is becoming a global language. Many people now neglect their own mother tongue and prefer to learn English. What are the problems that could arise if everyone adopts English as a language? Offer some solutions to this problem

Nowadays, many people are ignoring their mother tongue and inclining towards English, as it is gradually becoming well liked and accepted language by the world nations. As a result, the importance of native language is getting decreased and old people are finding it very difficult to survive. But this can be tackled by implementing strict rules in all the educational institutions and creating awareness in people. To begin with, the foremost problem associated with adoption of English is the importance of native language and its use is slowly declining. Due to this, children these days are unable to identify and understand some words and phrases in their mother tongue which makes them to stand behind when compared to the rest. Additionally, these days we can observe how older people are finding difficult to survive in this English adopted world. They are unable to read the content starting from signboards to the directions which are mentioned on the roads. Thus, they need to rely on others for all the simplest things in life. For example, when my grandfather want to withdraw cash from his account, he will always want me to accompany since all the options in the ATM was being displayed in English which he cannot understand. On the other hand, governments should be make and implement necessary guidelines in all the educational institutions that will enable all the younger generations to learn about their mother tongue. All schools and colleges should incorporate at least 4 classes a week about the native language in their student’s curriculum. Moreover, NGO’s and other native language promoting associations should create awareness in people about the importance of the mother tongue and how to save it for future generations. To conclude, despite of having problems like decreased importance and survival of elderly, mother tongue should be always encouraged by supporting it with proper guidelines and creating awareness. This not only helps the current generations but also helps the future as well.