One of the responsibilities of a manager is to motivate their employees to increase their performance. However, I strongly disagree that baising their salaries on their rates of sales and production would be the most effective method.

One of the responsibilities of a manager is to motivate their employees to increase their performance. However, I strongly disagree that baising their salaries on their rates of sales and production would be the most effective method. The performance in many cases cannot simly be qualified in terms of sales and production. For example, a teacher's job is to teach classes, assess homework, and provide students with feedback, none of which involves producing or selling any goods. In this case it is the performance of her studence and their levels of satisfaction with aspects of her performance such as rapport or punctiality that decide how succesful he has been. Furthermore, the performance of many workers is greately affected by external factors beyond their control. The state of economy, unexpected political development, and extreme weather conditions can all have significant impact on how much a worker can produce or sell. A hurricane, for example, can easely devastate a farm and all its produce without its workers being responsible for any of the damages or the ensuing drop in production rates. Basing wages on sales or production rates would actually demotivate workers in such cases. Some may argue that it is difficult to assess anything other than a worker's output, making any other form of appraisal less effective. However, managers these days have tools such questionnaires and Customer Relations Management platform that allow them to form a relatively clear picture of a worker's overall performance. In conclusion, I think deciding how much an employee should earn based solely on their sales or production figures would be both impossible and unfair im most, if not all, cases. Instead, employers should look at a more diverse set of performance indicators, including customer satisfaction and punctuality.