One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution.

Nowadays, food shortage is main issue across the world. This growing problem is due to increasing population. Some people argue that producing genetically modified crops could be useful to cope with this issue. I personally disagree with this view. In my opinion, long term effects of genetically modified crops are still matter of research. In the other words, these ‘ GM’ foods might have harmful impacts on human being. Recent studies revealed that, these foods can cause the new allergies and decline body resistance. Moreover, they don’t have enough nutritions such as proteins and some essential vitamins. In many cases, they are not delicious so most people don’t want to taste them. In Canada, after consuming modified crops experimentally, volenteers body immune system got weaked which was so dangerous. On the other hand, producing modified foods could not be implemented worldwide because of its high technology processes and costs. There are many underdeveloped countries that are already suffering financially in various fields. Consequently, Governments can not allocate money on providing GM crops for their people. Besides, the number of experts in this field is too low. In some parts of Africa people are experiencing lack of good health services and even drinkable water so authorities can’t spend much money on this modern farming. In conclusion, although GM food has its own supporters, governments should get involved and look for a practical way to deal with this global issue. They can encourage people to replace common foods with other organic and nutritious crops to tackle poverty in the world.