one of the major problem that faces today’s governments is creating enough satisfactory housing for their increasing population whilst still trying to protect the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this world with an ever-growing population, providing housing is one of the crucial tasks of all governments. At the same time, however, the environment has to be protected from too much destruction and deforestation. Different solutions have been created to solve these problems. I am inclined to believe that the most significant solution could be increasing the height of buildings. In this essay I will briefly discuss both arguments and give my opinion. When looking at the skyline of metropolitan areas, skyscrapers are becoming increasingly visible. The reason to this is simple; more housing has to be provided whilst environment suffers the least possible amount. Decreasing the building footprint of houses and therefore the destruction of the environment, while increasing the height of buildings, is an effective solution for overcoming this dilemma. Yet, this solution has its drawbacks, an increasing height also means that sunlight reaching the streets will decrease and houses will be more densely built in order to save spaces. Another solution could be increasing building costs to pressure the population into living in smaller areas, which would save space. This will impact members of community unevenly depending on their wealth, this will definitely encourage unequal living standards. For the aforementioned reasons this is not an applicable solution to the problem. From my viewpoint, finding the best way to minimize environmental damage while increasing housing is a problem to which there is no simple solution. Many governments are in the current time relying on height to solve the problem, but it is not attractive to many people. Any solution chosen should be on that causes the fewest problems.