In some countries, fast food restaurants and supermarkets give money to schools to promote their products .Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, hotels and superstores are marketing their products in various forms. One such practice is paying the schools in order to market their products at these institutions. In my opinion, although this scenario is profitable for these businesses, it can cause a serious damage to children in the long run. To begin with, schools are supposed to promote healthy eating habits among children and lay a good foundation for their future. However, accepting the financial support from any marketing organisations, such as fast food restaurants binds the receivers to promote their foods, which contain harmful ingredients. These foods are quite addictive, and are known to cause obesity in children. For example, the taste of the sample junk foods distributed at schools, force the children and their families to, rush to the fast food centre. Hence, the act of encouraging these giant fast food chains must be condemned. In addition, the advertising campaigns at schools have considerable impact on the young minds of the children making them buy products from these giant super stores. As a result, students become a part of this never ending vicious cycle of buying more and more goods, which are unnecessary in most of the cases. For instance, if an expensive toy is advertised at school and some children buy it, the other children obviously feel the need to buy it. This puts a considerable financial burden on their families. On the other hand, the management members of some educational institutions claim that, the funds obtained from these fast food and super store chains are helping them. These funds are a considerable help to establish the necessary infrastructure at their schools. In turn, this improves the experience of students at school. In conclusion, although there seem to be some advantages of receiving money from restaurants and supermarkets, and promoting their products, it is important for the educational institutions to look deeper, and understand that, this is more a vice than a virtue. As these products disturb the health and finances of children and their families, these practices must be put to an end as soon as possible.