One long distance flight consumes fuel which a car uses in several years’ time, but they cause the same amount of pollution. So some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights such as tourist travel, rather than to limit the use of car

Growing air pollution is one of the burning global warming issues. Air pollution mostly caused by cars and airliners. Some people equate the one flight fuel consumption is same as the car air pollution during the year. Therefore, it is believed that it is better to avoid flights whenever it deems fit than to limit car usage. I am not supporting this notion as it is not achievable until and unless all the people develop similar mindset. Another reason is tourism industry has became more profitable because of comfortable and timely transportation option which is air travel. Even if, the fact is that airplane depletes exact amount of fuel and produce same number of air pollution as car in a year, it is not possible to discourage non-essential flight. In order to achieve success in this manner all the people should cultivate same mindset which is nearly impossible. It is duty of airliner company that even it has few customers for particular flight then also they have to provide same services, no matter flight is full or partly empty. In this case, air pollution is as same as having all the customers on-board. For example, Jet Airways is bound to take-off flights even though they have couple of customers which dictates that it is not possible to reduce air pollution until all the ethnic groups having the same mindset to discourage non-essential flights. Last but not least, for some it might be the non-essential flight, but for some it might be very much essential due to some emergency reasons. On the other side, as tourism industry flourishes it not a practical approach to opt for other transportation options. In fact, flights is the only fastest and comfortable option nowadays to move from the one corner to other corner of the world. Through air services one can avail themselves within day, no matter how far the destined place is. For example, country like Russia and China, flight is very much affordable, comfortable and less time consuming transportation option. Additionally, car might not endure some countries’ whether conditions as there are some rocky, desert and forest areas whereas flight is the only right choice. The aforementioned countries have bad whether and some geographical area where road or train transport is not available. To conclude, as flight is undisputed traveling option for large population of the world. It is irrefutable that though, it produces the same amount of pollution during one flight as car does in whole year, it is one and the only option as off now to reach somewhere comfortably and in a timely manner.