ONE game on a relatively old console

Words are like toothpaste; they stick to people and are hard to put back into the tube. They are to be thoughtfully used. Once out of the container, it is hard to put the viscous substance back into the circular tube. No matter how much you scoop the paste off, there will always be residue sticking to another person that you cannot get back. Once it sticks, the memory can resurface back at any time, making it a potential source of regret. Birthdays are happy occasions, born of joy and celebration. However, there was one birthday where I gave myself said lesson on the realities of sticky words. This story begins around Late fall, in October of 2016. Like many kids back then, I would spend my time watching YouTube, sitting on a soft couch. I particularly liked watching people do walkthroughs of many console games. Notably, I like watching people playing the MegaMan X series. Of course, I did not just watch the gameplays just to only laze around and do nothing about it. I was incredibly determined to play Megaman X, so I did research. From the video description, I immediately know that the game runs on the PlayStation Portable, or PSP for short. Then, I checked a game store at my favorite mall to check if the game is in stock. It turns out that the game does not sell as discs anymore, but are now ported into the console itself for free. All of this was planned as more of a trophy showcasing my determination and hard work. I wanted to have the PSP hanging in room like a plaque showcasing my achievements. So, I just needed to save up enough pocket money for the console and I can play it with no regrets. My plan was set. I counted the total amount of money in my piggie bank and then subtracted it from the price goal. Then, I made my plan on the minimum amount I would save per day. I knew what I needed and what I had to do. However, there was one thing I did not account for in my plan at all: my subtlety. It was immediately obvious to my parents that I wanted the PSP very much, as almost every time I pass the game store at the mall, I would squish myself in front of the cold glass plane to take a good look to confirm that the console is still on sale. Keep in mind, this was around mid-October, only a couple weeks before my birthday. So, without me knowing, my parents know what they were going to get for my birthday present. My plan back then would have taken many months to garner enough cash for the game console, but in the end, it took only 4 weeks. When my birthday rolled around, I imagined them getting me at least like a big book that were about my interests like DC or Lego. I was surprised when I found the PSP that was plugged into a socket, charging up. I was overjoyed and grateful at them, but inside I felt a bit cheated. If I had been more careful with my words, I would not have wasted my parent’s money. Many people would argue that for their children, not a penny is counted as counted, but I felt like I did because I only wanted to play the PSP for only MegaMan X and it only. It was just ONE game on a relatively old console that were not getting any new games at all. So, on the day, internally, I promised myself to be more thoughtful and careful of the words poured out of my mouth, no different from the toothpaste lesson of the west. It is actually kind of funny. A lesson like you should be more careful with your words should be taught from parent to child, but there I was accidentally giving myself a life lesson. To save even the last bit of money, is my kind of life motto, to spare unnecessary expenses. So, it was that day that gave me a wider understanding of life.