Once a person become a criminal, he will always be a criminal. agree or disagree

Some people are of the opinion that when someone is convicted of a certain crime, they will invariably be a perpetrator. In my opinion, it depends on individuals whether they change themselves or continue breaking the law. When it comes to people who keep committing crime, some of them are affected by many factors that make them continue being a criminal. Some perpetrators’ behaviors can be linked to their genes, which means those criminal behaviors can be caused by biological factors. Therefore, although some perpetrators were jailed for a certain period of time, they might still commit crime because of their nature. To illustrate, a couple who live in my neighborhood are fraudsters and they were arrested several times. Their son was also convicted of many types of crimes such as fraud and drug smuggling. Although he was sentenced to prison many times, it seems that there is no improvement in his behavior. What is more, perpetrators who live in crime-ridden areas tend to reoffend their crime since they are affected by their living environment in a negative way. This situation is quite true as they are surrounded and deeply influenced by a wide range of bad people who have serious criminal records. On the other hand, in some situations, criminals may not become a law breaker a second time. First, people who unintentionally commit a crime may not reoffend the crime again. These people commit crime because they lack knowledge of law or the crime is beyond their control. For example, a content creator on social media used music from a number of websites to insert to her videos without knowing that those musics are in copyright and she was sued for using the music without the permission of the composers. Since then, she was more careful with choosing music for her videos and less likely to reoffend that crime again. Second, rehabilitation changes criminals into law-abiding citizens. When criminals are provided education courses in prison, they are taught job skills and offered counseling. This enables them to find a legal job when they are released so they can make a living and feed themselves. Once their lives are stable, they may not tend to commit crime again. To conclude, I believe it depends on each individual in certain situations whether a perpetrator will continue being a criminal or not.