On Teaching Children: Should we be Carefree or Careful?

Whitney Houston once sang, “I believe the children are our future. Teach them well and let them lead the way”. This song illustrates how we value our children, and how crucial it is to teach them well. Similarly, if we instill sound values and a proper mindset early on, then they will possible mature into responsible, conscientious adults. On one hand, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. This can prove beneficial in several ways. First, this kind of mindset employs a resilient attitude in the child. Telling him not to give up strengthens his character and gives him grit. Furthermore, he will be trained in handling any situation, no matter how difficult, that comes his way. Second, this phrase boosts a child’s morale. In raising children, it is of utmost importance to make them feel happy and confident about themselves, for them to be courageous in exploring and learning things around them. Furthermore, being confident teaches a child to love himself, so he may also show this love to others. Lastly, this kind of mindset trains a child to be a dreamer. In dreaming, not only does he stretch his imagination, but he also sets high standards for himself. For instance, a child who consistently spends time imagining and dreaming of what he wants to do when he grows up eventually becomes innovative and creative. He then dreams of a better quality of life, not just for himself but also for society. On the other hand, telling a child that he can achieve anything if he tries hard enough can backfire in some ways. First, he may be resilient about something negative, for instance, in getting a rather undeserved toy. Knowing that he can get anything he wants with enough effort, he will be persistent and keep on insisting that his parents to buy him that toy. Therefore, it might turn him into what society would call a “spoiled brat”. Second, he may become overconfident in himself. In learning not to give up, he might be chasing a dead end. Lastly, in setting his standards too high, a child may be too picky and try to live above his parents’ means. In conclusion, teaching children about confidence and resilience should be done moderately. We should be carefree in giving them the love and support that they need in order for them to be happy and confident, but we should also be careful in giving them everything that they want. Furthermore, parents should always bear in mind that children are greatly impressionable, and the lessons that we impart to them will have a tremendous impact on their hearts and minds.