Using e-hailing services (e. g. Grab, Maxim, MyCar, etc. ) is better than using one’s own vehicle. Do you agree?

In the Malaysia economy, the presence of numerous e-hailing services fosters healthy competition. Additionally, it allows customers to make more choices based on their preferences. What are e-hailing services? E-hailing services are the process of requesting a taxi, car or other mode of transportation through virtual devices such as Grab, Maxim or MyCar. The existence of these services causes many to consider owning a car is not a necessity. I disagree that using e-hailing services is better than using one’s own vehicle because one’s own vehicle is more comfortable and low risk. Firstly, using one’s own vehicle is more comfortable. This is because we have complete control over the vehicle. Compare to e-hailing services, the individual must adhere to car owner guidelines such as not eating and ensuring that the clothes are not wet. For individuals who love listening to the radio in the car, the use of their own vehicle itself give the freedom to choose their favorite songs and radio broadcast. Based on the reports showed by Grab car company, among the reasons why their driver get low rating from customers is too many rules are imposed thus making customers feel uncomfortable. However it is not the driver fault because they have the right on their car. So, if the individuals wants feel more comfortable on the car, the use of one’s own car is better. Secondly, using one’s own vehicle is low risk. The risk of using e-hailing services is high because passengers are unaware of the driver’s identity, history, and temperament. Despite the fact that any e-hailing services integrator has a valid certification and they must register with their e-hailing company, there are still some police cases where they are involved. Based on reports by Malaysian Royal Police, 15 cases was reported in 2017 about crime causes by e-hailing company. It is clear that e-hailing services is still not hundred percent safety for people. People should be more aware when they choose any e-hailing services so that bad thing not happened. In conclusion, the convenience of using one’s own car and the high risk of e-hailing services is the main reason using one’s own vehicle is better than e-hailing services. Although, the cause is a bit higher but it is worth it because having your own car will give you many benefits.