Question: Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are possible solutions?

In past times, specialists imply that individuals were elated and healthier because they performed more exercise and utilized quality period with friends and family. Nowadays they suffer staying alone as well as health issues. This essay will examine the causes and solutions to these problems in details. To begin with, many older people now endure loneliness and health related situations. The primary reason for this is because they do not reside in the same environment with their pals and relatives which as resulted into depression. For example, in a recent study carried out in Mapo Village, most of the families showed that living without their children and grandkids has made their surroundings very boring. Also, older adults spend most of their time indoor. This is due to the fact that they no longer have the strength to walk around longer distances. In addition, elderly individuals do not consume healthy meals which has exposed them to medical conditions such as hypertension, diabetes and among others. However, family members and close acquaintances should be encouraged to visit the aged. This will help them express their concerns and create awesome memories. For instance, a survey done few months ago among the residents of Oyo State showed that most elderly individuals are excited whenever their friends visit them. Furthermore, older people should be encouraged to stay healthy by eating balanced diet as this will help boost their immune system. Also, older people should ensure they go for wellness checkup regularly. In conclusion, living far away from close acquaintances and spending most hours inside their homes are the reasons why the elderly suffer loneliness and health problems. Nevertheless, consuming healthy diet, spending quality time with friends and doing routine medical checks are possible solutions to these issues.