ome people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It has been a contentious issue whether it is important for students to learn about food and its preparation, or the amount of school time for such activities should be used in subjects that are considered more important. In my opinion, it is necessary that students should be given school time to study on culinary aspects, as those knowledge could prove crucial to their adulthoods. The argument for students' studying the science of food is clear: everyone must be able to well understand the food they consume. Culinary studies are important as it helps people to enhance their hygiene safety, by checking for infectants, planning meals, and consuming the right food for their needs. Moreover, this helps raise the students' cultural standards, as food has been such an amazing way to convey and conserve the culture of a people or a country that pasta, kimchi, sushi and such dishes are considered part of those aspects that define the culture of their respective homelands. Therefore, an overarching study plan for the science of food should be treated as an important part of the school curriculum. On the other hand, a notable argument for students' spending their school time on other important subjects is that cramming knowledge is important for students to pass their exams and have a well-enhanced academic background. Being able to study well and pass exams with distinction is a commonly-acknowledged way for a student to be able to thrive in their adulthoods with social recognition and vast knowledge. Furthermore, as the student learns not to crumble under the pressures of exams, he or she would also learn not to crumble under the pressures of life, maintaining self-balance and learning the correct attitude in the process. For these reasons, it is thought to be important that students' amount of school time should be devoted to learning subjects that are widely considered important in the current academic system. However, the flaw of this argument can be seen as clearly as daylight: the so-called "important" subjects do not include those studying food as their research topic. Culinary studies should be able to gain the status it deserves, since it provides students with an adequate cultural background and a soft skill that helps them to get into self-reliant much more easily and proficiently, which are considered almost bare necessities in modern life. A student may not be able to remember a chemical equation or the logarithm of a certain number in his or her adulthood, but he or she will bear in mind the attitude of learning and respecting his or her own culture, as well as the culture of the country he or she dwells in. This attitude must be fortified into every learner's mind from even the base levels of academics, such as elementary, secondary or even pre-school. In conclusion, studying about food and its preparation process should be considered a priority in academic organizations, for the importance of the hygienic, cultural and attitudinal values with which it introduces students.