It is true that there is an increasing tendency to assess students through exams, which brings a lot of benefits to the students.

It is true that there is an increasing tendency to assess students through exams, which brings a lot of benefits to the students. For example, the process of examination is predefined and students have the opportunity to structure their knowledge. However, there are several drawbacks, as for some students the procedure can be quite stressful and acquired information can be far from practical usage. On the one hand, an evident advantage of examination process is that exams are predefine and students, in most cases, know exactly what performance is expected. In other words, if the examinee prepares beforehand and takes the examination seriously, he is more likely to get the highest score in the assessment. In addition, during preparation to the exam students have the opportunity to apply studying technics and simply learn how to learn. That is important not only while preparing for the exam but also in areas outside the science field. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages of assessing knowledge of students through exams. First of all, examination in most cases is a very stressful activity and the level of stress is doubled when a person starts the preparation just night before the exam. Plenty of information should be memorised in a very short period of time and the student can find himself learning from sun up till sun down. Secondly, students are sometimes aimed at simply passing the exam and getting a good score rather than acquiring real knowledge. It may lead to situation when they leave the examination session and forget everything they have learnt. Thus, exams are widely used in assessing students’ knowledge. Students know exactly what is expected from them and while preparing they can structure their skills. Also, examination process can increase the level of stress and not always helps students apply acquired information.