Older-school children should learn a wide range of subjects and develop knowledge, or they should only learn a small number of subjects in detail.

Education counts in future competition on the international arena, so schools around the world are intent on figuring out the most efficient way of improving students’ academic performance. Some people insist that students ought to focus on one subject while others believe that additional subjects are of necessity. This essay will examine both arguments. The reason why students should only learn one subject is that more efforts lead to maximized learning efficiency. Naturally, students can spend most of time and energy in probing into their majors and refer to more learning materials in relevant domains, thus spurring creative power. What is more, social activities should constitute the essential part of students’ education, so focusing on one particular field is a better choice to strike a balance between study and social practice. Of course, this practice is potentially harmful to students. Firstly, students’ horizon fails to be expanded if they only contact one subject, which would impede their further academic development in the future. Worse, limitation in one subject might deprive students of the chance to find what really interests them, leading to the consequence of lacking enthusiasm to make further research in their majors. For example, many graduates show indifference to their study, believing that their four-year college life is a waste of time. On the other hand, if the syllabus including a variety of courses, the disadvantages are inevitable. For one thing, it is difficult for students occupied by course study to allocate extra time to other necessary activities, such as club, or outside-campus internship. For another, too much burden would be created because students have to preview and review so many subjects to pass examinations. The benefits obtained, nevertheless, are more worthwhile. To begin with, knowledge in different disciplines helps students lay a solid foundation for future job-capacity since practical problem-solving ability has to be cultivated based on diverse knowledge. For example, relevant computer problems depend on language and mathematics expertise. Furthermore, in acquiring knowledge, students can know truly what they would devote the rest of their life to in their future academic life. In summary, although one particular subject teaching methodology has some benefits, a wide range of courses are vital to students ’ further development. As for me, students should expand their horizon, and absorb more knowledge.