Nowadays people are encouraged to buy more and more consumer products. Some people think it is good for the economy. However, others think it does great harm to the society as a whole.

At present days, the public in some nations are motivated to purchase goods, which has aroused a discussion between different groups of people. While encouraging to buying things is beneficial to a nation's economy, it is certainly detrimental to social development when people make unnecessary purchases. It certainly enhances the development of economy when a greater number of people are willing to consume. The growth of number of consumers means greater consumer demand, which definitely contributes to the development of some businesses. For example, during the period of Olympic Games, there is a noticeable rise in the need of sports goods and facilities. Companies which specialize in such field receive more orders during this time, thereby making greater profit during this time. Also, more job opportunities are created since more workers are needed to manufacture adequate goods to meet the need of customers. However, if more money is spent on items that are more than what people really need, the consequences can be detrimental to the society. First of all, this behavior can result in waste. These goods are not always necessary or satisfactory, which means they are very likely to be left untouched or even thrown away. It is not rare to see a seemingly fabulous coat that was bought on impulse stay in the closet without being put on again. In addition, encouraging people to buy more and more things is not helpful for people to form a positive attitude toward consumption. When they are used to such a style of consuming, they may become addicted to buying things without thinking carefully about whether they really need those things or not. Nowadays, a number of young adults are keen on buying flashy things, such as cutting-edged laptops, brand new cellphones, etc, some of which, however, are too pricey for them to afford. Therefore, some of them choose to pay by credit card, ignoring the potential danger of such kind of payment. In conclusion, while it is true that consumption is an integral part of a nation's economy and encouraging people to buy things can boost the economy to a certain extent, such encouragement does harm to the society when people don't base their purchases on their real demand and purchasing power.