Older people have the opportunity to work until any age

Postponing retirement can be easily seen among senior workers these days. While extending working life can have several advantages, I still believe that its drawbacks may be far more significant. On the other hand, there are several benefits to delaying retirement age. In particular, senior employees with a prolonged working life have encountered numerous challenges and obstacles at work. They have gained precious working experience, which enables them to handle the tasks more effectively and to offer valuable advice to younger colleagues. In addition, working beyond the standard retirement age allows old people to make their own earnings and increase their pension. Being financially independent, the aged can pay for their living expenses, thus instilling a sense of self-worth among old people. However, I believe that delaying retirement can have some undesired ramifications which overshadow the aforementioned benefits. The major problem is that the old workers are not able to keep up with the heavy workload due to their deteriorated health and depression. It can be seen that older people are vulnerable to disease and stress, and they may frequently suffer from constant fatigue. Such problems decrease the effectiveness and productivity of companies. Another idea worth mentioning is that over-65-year-old senior workers hold a different perspective on a problem. Their solutions can be outdated and no longer necessary when tackling complicated business problems, compared to the ideas of younger employees who are more creative. In conclusion, even though extending working life could bring several financial benefits, I believe that prolonged working life would have a negative impact on business activities.