Older People Contribution to Society

Due to the advanced medical technology as well as the improvement of life quality, human life expectancy has been greatly extended, leading to many countries around the world entering the aging society. Although elderly people in society can make contribute to their industries to some extent, I believe that this demographic change could cause some social issues. On the one hand, elderly people aged over 60 have rich experiences and wisdom in their fields of work. All those are regarded as valuable assets to the whole society. Many people will choose to postpone their retirement and continue to stay in their posts. They can impart their knowledge and skills to younger generations. For example, some old scientists who are experts in math, chemistry, physics and so on. In particular, some traditional handicraft skills will disappear if they are not passed on to young people. On the other hand, old people usually suffer serious diseases in their later years, which impose a heavy burden on the health care and taxpayers. For example, some heavy diseases such as cancer, heart disease, high blood pressure etc. are likely to increase medical needs and spending. Therefore, the government should pour more money into elderly care and cut the budget for other essential public services such as education and transportation. In order to keep the normal run of other public fields, the government would impose more taxes on taxpayers. This then increases the cost of living for ordinary people. Another possible problem is that an aged over 60 people may have a harmful effect on the economy. The aged workers cannot absorb new information and complete work rapidly as young and badly influence one company's productivity and local economy. In conclusion, experienced old people can bring some benefits to their fields to some degree. However, a rapidly-aging population can cause some pressures and obstacles to society and economy.