Almost all economic sectors are affected adversely due to the imposing of lockdown by the government. Analyse how the businesses were affected in the hotel industry since the first MCO in March 2020.

In order to rein in the surge of Covid infections, Malaysia has been under a nationwide lockdown since March 2020. In compliance with standard operating procedures (SOPs)announced by Malaysian government, tourism is halted amid a spike of Covid-19 cases. Local avid travellers are not allowed to have a getaway as the cross border is closed with strict police control. Similarly, overseas travellers from all the other destinations are unable to fly into Malaysia. Because of these restrictions above, hotel industry is affected severely. The entire hotel industry from one star to five star are facing cancellation of room booking, weddings, conferences and so forth. Food and beverage department is also in a difficult position as all social activities like buffets are not allowed to conduct during pandemic. It severely impact on hotel revenues. With less and less business among hotel industry, employees such as receptionist, cleaning staff, waitresses and hotel managers will lose their jobs while complying with standard operating procedures. Significant data shows that, unemployment rate among hotel industry is increasing rapidly. What’s more, we are struggling to afford building maintenance charges since there’s no sufficient cash flow. Hotels will remain a poor condition for the coming months, with no end in sight of Covid pandemic. More and more hotels are closing down since Covid 19 disease started to widespread last year. It leads to an inadequacy of hospitality service once government decides to loosen restrictions and allow travelling. COVID-19 has been spreading widely and affecting every sector across globe. Hotel industry is one among the hardest-hit. It impacts on profitability, unemployment rate of the entire hotel industry. It changes our life.