Old age people should be taken care by the government and it is not the responsibility of the family.

Advancement in technology and globalisation have transformed each facet of life and revolution is family structure is no exception. In the wake of various job opportunities people have migrated to other nations as a result concept of nuclear family has carved the cliche in the community. It has germinated a vehement argument that who should take care of old age people at home. Though I am convinced that parents have brought up the children and now is the time for them to pay the debt, but I disagree that it is only family’s responsibility and the government should not devise measures for the benefit of parents. To begin with, it is widely claimed that children are nothing without parents. Parents as guardian have taught everything from speaking to walking. Evidently, children should look after parents when they become old as it is not only a moral responsibility but also it is the duty as a son or daughter. On the flip side, I also agree that government must take adequate measures to assist old age people. On account of increasing social equality husband and wife both are working professionals in demanding work environments. Thus, looking after parents has become impossible. Moreover, relying on children will not be helpful for old age people as they will end up cooking foods and babysitting their grandchildren. Therefore, the cabinet must pass bills to facilitate old dwellers with monthly pensions and old age houses to help them in their difficult time. The old people have contributed to the country in many ways including paying the tax and the government should ensure their proper care from the fund the country has or from the money it collects from the taxpayers. To conclude, while relatives should accompany retired people in their need, but I am convinced that government must stamp out steps in the goodwill of these people.