Obesity is now a major global epidemic. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

It is true that obesity has become a major problem throughout the world. To solve this problem, governments should put high taxes on fast food, and create awareness of the detrimental effects of being obese. The problem of obesity can be solved / tackled by imposing / levying high taxes high taxation on junk food. One of the main reasons for the increasing cases of obesity amongst people is the excessive consumption of food that is high in unhealthy fat and calorie content. This is evident from the popularity of various chain restaurants, such as McDonald’s and Burger King. Eating at such places is making people over-weight. Therefore, if fatty food becomes costly, it might discourage people from eating it on a regular basis, and, thus, the problem of obesity can be mitigated. Another solution can be a publicity campaign by the government in the media and schools to make people aware of the harmful effects of obesity. Many individuals do not know what risks they are taking by becoming severely obese. If they are made enlightened about the several obesity related diseases, such as diabetes and high blood pressure, they are more likely to avoid unhealthy eating habits and inactive lifestyles. For instance, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in a 35% drop in the number of people who were struggling with obesity. In conclusion, the incidences / prevalence of obesity in the several nations can be solved by imposing an extra tax on junk food, and by enlightening people about the ramifications of being over-weight.