Obesity is a ticking time bomb which will cause healthcare cost to explode. To defuse this situation, all fast food advertising should be banned.

Obesity is a tough problem spread especially in the most developped countries like US, Europe and also in Italy. The main consequence is the development of different medical problems like strokes, diabete, ipertension, therefore from the economical point of view obesity has a strong impact causing a sharp hike of healthcare cost. The aim of this essay is to assess the possibility to reduce the number of overweight people banning all fast food advertising. I partially agree with this statement because it would be surely useful but not enough. In this way children can not have the access to images that represent appetizing and tempting fat food, sugar and salty items, fried servings with sauces. Although banning repetitive advertisiments can be a solution, it is not enough as other efforts are required. Firstly to raise awareness about healthcare risks, through mass media information, could be a crucial step especially to younger people in order to shape their mind about a right alimentary behavior. Since children are the most vulnerable category, it is evident how parents and school should play a fundamental role to give them suggestions to follow a healthy diet. Furthermore schools could implement practical initiatives like eliminating unhealthy food in vending machines, inviting nutritional experts to take seminars, aimed to educate children about a correct life style. In conclusion it can be seen that banning fast food advertisement can give just a partial contribution to fight obesity. Valid alternatives have bben identified in limiting the advertising on internet, making younger people aware of possible healthcare risks and implementing educational practical initiatives. The role of the family can be also considered crucial to the children education about alimentation.