Obesity is a serious problem in many countries, especially in rich countries. Discuss ways to solve the problem. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Owing to urbanization and industrialization, there has been a dramatic rise in obesity among people of all age groups particularly in the developed countries like the United Kingdom and the USA. This essay sheds light on the issue and will offer solutions for the same. Firstly, the surge in popularity of technological advancements and innovation among youngsters have made them less inclined to indulge in physical exercise and sports activities. For instance, a survey conducted in the University of Cambridge revealed that 68% of teenagers professed that they prefer staying at home playing computer games rather than playing outside with their peers. This attitude and lack of exercise has led to a drastic rise in obesity among young people. Moreover, commercialization has also significantly contributed to this problem. Multi-national companies all over the world encourage people to purchase their products through attractive advertisements, irrespective of the health hazards they may cause. For instance, there has been a worldwide enormous growth in sales of Lays Chips and Coca-Cola, especially in the rich countries. The aforementioned evidence shows that obesity is on the rise in several regions of the world. In order to solve this issue, schools should make it compulsory for all pupils to participate in a physical sport every day. In addition, they should conduct awareness programs educating them about the harmful effects of obesity and other health hazards associated with it. Also, parents should strictly monitor the amount of time their child spends on playing video games. The government should increase the price of all forms of junk food, thereby increasing the tax on these products and making it less affordable. To conclude, if the appropriate measures taken by teachers, parents and the local authorities, the rise of obesity will reduce in the developed world.