Obesity in children is a social issue. What are the causes and effect of the problem, and what are the solutions?

The growing number of obesity in children is concerning due to numerous negative health implications. This essay will discuss about some of the main causes of childhood obesity and potential solutions to prevent it. One of the many causes of obesity in young age is increased consumption of unhealthy food. The increased prevalence of fast food in the market makes it easy for young children to access and consume unhealthy food. Similarly, the pervasive advertisement of these unhealthy foods at school and in public also tempt children to consume these food that are not nutritious. Moreover, children in these days are exposed to electric gadgets as early as toddlers. This early exposure and addiction to usage of electric gadgets have diverted children’s attention to engage in physical exercise. The increased physical inactivity combined with unhealthy diet has contributed to the current issue with childhood obesity. The implications to health is noted in many scientific literature. These include increased risk of cardiovascular disease and diabetes. To prevent and eliminate the current issue, it is important to tackle many issues related to the obesity. Firstly, there needs to be more of health education regarding healthy diet and the danger of fast food or unhealthy food in general. Children and young people in general are not fully aware of the negative impacts of unhealthy food consumption in the long run. Similarly, children need to be encouraged to engage in more outdoor activity away from electronic gadgets. The more children realise the pleasure of engaging in outdoor activity, the more they will become healthy through physical exercise. In addition to this, parents are needed to be taught and reminded to delay the first exposure to electronic gadgets to their children. This would enable children to find hobbies or interest that can limit their dependency on electronic gadgets when they begin to utilise it down the road. In conclusion, unhealthy diet and physical inactivity are two of the main causes of childhood obesity. The proposed solutions to this issue include a provision of health education on health diet and encouragement in outdoor activity.