Perception of the English Teachers on Transformational Teaching Strategy: Bases for Transformative Learning Program

This scholarly study determines the Perception of the English Teachers on Transformational Teaching Strategy: Bases for Transformative Learning Program among select public high school English Teachers in Balanga City and Bataan who currently teacher 7th grade students. There are (100) English Teachers of the select public high schools in Bataan selected using the simple random sampling based on age, sex, position, years of service, educational attainment, seminars and trainings attended. The researcher utilized descriptive method to comprehensively discuss the profile and the teaching strategy of the teacher-respondents in English. Percentage, compute value and tabular value t-test used to correlate Teachers’ Profile to Transformational Teaching Strategies in select public high school English Teachers in Balanga City and Bataan who currently teacher 7th grade students. In the light of the findings of this study some conclusions were drawn. The teacher-related factors such as age, educational attainment and seminars and trainings attended are related to the teaching strategies they employ. More so, the teacher-related factors such sex, position and years and service and transformational teaching strategies don’t have significant relationship. Lastly, the transformational teaching strategy and students’ academic performance in English have significant relationship. Relative to the findings and conclusions, scores of recommendations were proposed. One of those is the suggestion that teachers must persistently aspire to acquire continuous professional growth. They must be keen about the several seminars and trainings available. Since training and seminars are related to teaching strategies, the Department of Education must encourage different agencies responsible for conducting seminars to focus on topics about teaching strategies. The agencies responsible for conducting seminars must encourage teachers to go beyond theories and principles of learned teaching strategies. Schools must facilitate more Learning Action Cell or L. A. C. sessions to upgrade the teachers’ knowledge in teaching strategies.