development in urban economic development

After I read a development article, it confirms my existing view about urban economic development. This is because the author questions the ideas of speculative urbanism in sub-Saharan Africa’s targeted cities. These cities are revised the image to attract international investors which will benefit for economies in the area of property investment interests. On one hand, it can be seen that Africa’s image revision purposed to bring benefits to the Africa’s future cities in the same position of successful cities such as Dubai and Shanghai. On the other hand, in order to renew the image of these areas, people who live in these areas are evicted. This process has affected significantly the majority of people in Africa cities who are greatly poor living in informal accommodations (Watson, 2014). In addition, the new residents and buildings are constructed in luxury styles. It can be seen that the future Africa’s cities are designed for middle and upper-income that did not fit with the socio-economic contexts of people who live there. This can be questioned that do various policies stimulating economies properly or not. Moving on to my perspective, urban development should be considered in various aspects not only urban economy but also social and environmental contexts. According to agglomeration economies which play a key role in urban economic development, the advantages are generated from the adjacent location of firms and people both in cities (Glaeser, 2010). Therefore, many economic activities in the cities generate the overall economic benefits from learning sharing, learning and matching effects. However, the intensity of industrial clusters and population can create negative impacts on social and environmental issues. For instance, the more commodities are produced, the more pollution are generated which can lead to environmental problems. In addition, many people tend to seek for the job opportunities in the cities. However, the areas in the cities are not enough for the large number of workers. This is possibly resulted in the rise in the number of shanty towns and informal housings. This problem also worsens the quality of their life in the cities. On the whole, in my opinion, these concerns can lead to the next challenge for city managers in order to stimulate city economy while leaving no one behind.