Nuclear power is the best energy source for humanity

Climate change and environmental concerns are now the major issues of the 21st century. People and scientists are seeking and developing alternative energy sources that are greener, but sufficient to fuel the economy. But in my opinion, we already have that option, which in fact, is a quite old technology that has been used for a long time and yet underappreciated—Nuclear power. Many people are afraid of nuclear technology, as it has been portrayed as mass destruction weapon and catastrophe. But I would say that they are wrong for the most part, despite some true facts, most of what anti-nuclear activists are exaggerated due to the media. Nuclear is in fact safer than fossil fuel like coal since the by-products of coal-burning are air pollution and dust that harm every life nearby. Moreover, coal miners must take harsh working conditions that could kill them. Nuclear, however, produces waste that can be confined in such a small place, far from people. In addition to this, there have been only a few nuclear meltdowns throughout history. The famous one is Chernobyl, an incident that terrified everybody who ever heard about it. Despite some disagreement regarding whose fault it is, I believe that it is obvious that it was caused by human error and voluntarily poor design to keep the cost minimum, which is, certainly avoidable by having a standard, a new technology is not even required. Another concerning incident about nuclear powerplant is Fukushima’s nuclear meltdown, a tragedy caused by gigantic tidal wave wiping out the whole city and destroying the power plants, resulting in a leak of radioactive substances. Although the nuclear disaster had an impact, there is no discernible increase in the rate of cancer deaths is expected due to leaked radioactivity, and the casualties are committed by Tsunami, not nuclear plants. In terms of efficiency, nuclear power is one of the best energy resources. Personally, I think it is the best. A nuclear power plant can operate for decades under proper maintenance. On top of that, the cost is much cheaper than other alternative energy sources, which means it is better for the economy and poor people. Furthermore, importantly, it can operate 24/7 unlike wind or solar power, which makes nuclear power more reliable. Lastly, nuclear power is very eco–friendly. It emits so little carbon compared to other energy resources. Although other clean energy like solar or wind can also achieve low-carbon emissions, they require a backup system due to the discontinuity of wind and sunlight, such as batteries and natural gas turbines, which cause even more carbon footprint. One ironic example is Germany. Germany is trying to decommission nuclear power plants and replace them with wind and solar power. But the result is Germany has to import electricity from its neighbors and emits more carbon dioxide than France which generates its power from nuclear power plants. In conclusion, nuclear power is statistically and factually safe and efficient. With good management and transparent supervision, dare to say that it is nothing but an unrivaled option for our economy and environment.