Nowodoys young peopre orc ddmiring medio ond sporfs sfors, even though they do nol sef o good exomple. Do you fhink fhis is o posifive or o negolive developmenl?

Celebrities are increasingly becoming role models for the youth as their images and lifestyles are splashed across television, movies, magazines and the lnternet, in today's era of technology. I strongly believe that this is largely a negative development. A number of arguments surround my opinion' To begin with, celebrities are often portrayed drinking heavily or in excess in movies, magazines and on TV' This can be harmful to teens, who pick up on these behaviors, and think it is glamorous to drink excessively like their favorite celebrity. Almost every other day, a celebrity is in trouble with the law in terms of drug abuse or addiction. The youth see their favorite movie stars or singers doing drugs and they think they should also do the same to be like them. Furthermore, some celebrities create impossible standards of beauty, as a result of which more and more young adults feel less confident and more dissatisfied with their looks. Teenagers are at a phase of their life where they undergo massive changes physically, mentally, and emotionally. As celebrities are becoming thinner and thinner, self-confidence of their fans is lost and they suffer from body displeasure. This causes young fans to strive to be unhealthily thin. As a result they stop eating altogether, which may prove fatal at times. Another major issue of concern is that these celebs are endorsing too many products in the market. Youngsters normally like to have a role model they can turn to for how to dress, look and act. Some teenagers spend so much money on celebrity endorsed goods that they are forced to spend all their time working for it. The more obsessed, even demand or steal money from their parents or others. ln conclusion, it could be reiterated that, celebrities influence fans in many ways, most of which are negative. Celebrities need to change the way they behave in public. Their actions have more effect on the youth than many people believe they have. Thin, addicted celebrities are changing the way many young fans think and act. Celebrities need to change these habits now, and realize that they need to be more responsible with their portrayal in the media.