Nowadays young people tend to spend more time on social media. Is this a positive or negative development?

These day, the younger generation devotes a number of their time to using social media. While social networking can be beneficial to some extent, but in my viewpoint it’s drawbacks are more significiant. On the one hand, there are several advantages of using social media. Firstly, Social networkings is a place where thousands of social events are published regularly every day. Young individuals who usually get access to these sites will be beneficial in updating the latest trend and up to the minute information that is happening in the community such as covid 19 pandemic, economic condition. As a result, young ones will have a deeper insight into the work out there and become flexible with occurrences in their life. Secondly, since millions of people use social networkings, young ones will have more opportunities to get to know many like- minded individuals who have several things in common with together. This leads to the diversity in relationships. On the other hand, devoting time to using social media has many negative aspects. First and foremost, these days there are plenty of age- inappropriate and illegal concepts in social networkings. For example, antisocial people tend to publish wrong content about the government with a view to propagating reactionary thoughts for young people. As a result, young ones are able to become victims and are likely to have bad opinions. Additionally, allocating too much time to surfing social networks, young adults might be addicted to these sites. This contributes to the waste of time for other activities such as study and sports. Moreover, looking at smartphone screens can adversely affect young people's health. For example, people can be short - sighted after a long time using the phone. In conclusion, the fact that social media are ubiquitous in this day and age as they can help young adults to grasp the latest trend of society and make many friends. However, in my view, the drawbacks are greater, because it can poison young people with wrong thoughts and waste plenty of time for each person.