Nowadays, young people seem to be under too much pressure to succeed from their parents.

Never before has living conditions been so favourable, although much of the youth is experiencing stress on similarly unprecedented levels. In fact, there is significant pressure on them for success, particularly from their parents. This essay will discuss the origins and impacts of the contemporary parental pressure for their offspring to succeed. There are multiple factors that originate such pressure. First and foremost, there is sustenance, suggesting that parents emphasise success in order for their offspring to provide themselves and their families a decent life. Then, there is the hope for increased social standings. The expectations are more ambitious as young people are pressed into attaining wealth, recognition, and influence. Such is the case for multiple prodigies, who are expected to use their talents to advance their career and status beyond the scope of earning a liveable wage. In the end, maintaining families and reaching higher statuses usually stems from the goodwill of the parents, wanting the youth to have the optimal conditions. Nevertheless, the physical consequences are enormous. The reality is, success in the modern age often equates to financial wealth, which usually demands long work hours. Regardless of whether a young person has a blue- or grey-collar profession, overworking is bound to have negative physical health impacts, from mild problems such as fatigue to fatal ones such as cardiac arrest attributed to excessive physical toil or lack thereof. A notable example is Japan, where the tradition of work dedication - mostly passed down through generations - has made much of the modern Japanese youth work to death. There are mental issues to consider as well. Mainly, the pressure to succeed and meet familial expectations has the potential to make young people suffer from stress, depression, among other mental health problems. In the aforementioned nation of Japan, suicide rates have skyrocketed in recent years as the working youth collapse from being forced to work for success. Another point is the strained relationship between the youth and their parents. The reason is that, the pressure and associated problems may fuel resentment, eventually leading to broken family bonds. All in all, the parental pressure to succeed tend to originate from the desire for sustenance or status, and it has physical and mental burdens on the modern young generation. In my opinion, it is imperative for both sides to engage in open exchange in order to resolve the differences and prevent unnecessary pressure