Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? rpwo

The 21st century has witnessed the rise in the creation of more waste than ever. In order to understand the reason why there has been a tremendous increase in the production of rubbish in today's time, we need to take a look at the types of rubbish and the difference between its production over the years. To begin with, waste is anything that is not required by anyone or is of no use to them. Rubbish ranges from plastic bags and containers to broken bottles and paper. The rise in population and people's purchasing power are the two reasons responsible for more production of waste. For instance, it has been witnessed that compared to the last ten years, the overall population has increased with rise in demand for more jobs and consumer needs, resulting in more waste generation. On the contrary, a few years back, the people were less in number with there was a scarcity of high-paying jobs and the demand and supply of goods were also less. Hence less waste was produced. For instance, taking a look back at the last decade, the mortality rate was the high due presence of diseases and less technological advancement which was the reason for the low population, lesser number of jobs, and purchasing power, further creating less waste. To conclude, the government needs to play an important role in dealing with the menace of rising rubbish. The local bodies at the state and national level, need to introduce proper rules regarding the optimum utilization of resources, setting up of industries, and there should be regulations governing the demand and supply of products. Further measures should be taken to control the population and spread awareness about the hazards of rubbish to the environment and human health.