Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In today's world with the increased population and globalization, countries are generating enormous amount of trash in different forms. This significant increase in the garbage discharge has many reasons, and this article highlights the causes for huge waste generation, and the recommended solution that government authorities should take to reduce it. The main reason behind the massive increase in the waste production relates to the globalized market and its growing demand. Nowadays, technology is advancing at a rapid pace and led to release of new electronics good every other months. Because of this people are just blindly upgrading to the new released devices from market and phasing out their old gadgets even it has significant useful life of it. For instance, as part of government digitization banking system plan, Banks have phase out old mobile phones and computers which has significany useful remaining. Not just that, people tend to buy a lot of new products thinking that the products are cheap and necessary, but soon they realise that it is no longer needed to them. And slowly over a period this become obselete and thrown in the trash. This alarming increase in the rubbish generation has led the Governement to think about finding plausible solutions. The Government should promote waste collection, seggregation and recycling. To make it a grand success, it should first begin at source of trash collection and finally reach the end recyler facility where it can be recycled to a new product. For example, a local survey suggested that seggregating waste at source into dry, wet, and e-waste category before dumping reduces the recyling cost thereby promoting the recycling culture. Another step would be about bringing awareness of e-waste generation and its disposition. Instead of throwing away the old computers, mobile phones or any electronic gadgets into trash, it should be analyzed for the remainder of the product useful life and further disposed. Best example of this is an initiative taken by a startup compamy to refurbishing the old mobile phones, computers, printers, and donating them to the needy people. To summarise this, as our need grows, it will generate the more and more trash, but this should not limit us from using the latest products or articles, rather Government should make stern rules for proper recycling, disposing and handling. This will not just tame down the rubbish generation but also improves the environment.