Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Waste disposal is a rising concern across the globe and countries with the help of their authorities have been coming up with myriad initiatives to tackle this crisis. Excessive consumption of products especially non-renewable items and improper discarding of scrap lead to piling up of litter. In this essay, I will elucidate the reasons behind this issue and what the government can do to curb this soaring concern. The primary reason for the increasing amount of waste is the staggering rise in population. A higher population demands higher consumption and this further leads to more rubbish. Companies and factories also aggravate this scenario. As the number of users increases the production of goods elevates which results in more industrial waste. Furthermore, there is also a mentality in the minds of the people to use products and throw them away after the first couple of uses. For example, a plastic bag that we get from the grocery store can be reused multiple times. Instead of reusing, most people prefer throwing them away after every use. Although several initiatives exist, authorities can play a significant role in eliminating scrap buildup. Firstly, the cost of non-renewable items could be increased and higher taxes can be levied on their purchase. This will largely bring down its consumption considering the cost attached to its usage. Secondly, the public should be given awareness sessions on how improper disposal and mismanagement can affect future generations. This can be started from schools, workplaces, and even by hosting public events. Influencers and environmental activists like Greta Thunberg have started creating an impact on a global level and a large proportion of people are already supporting such initiatives. Such initiatives, according to my belief, would eventually decrease the excessive use of resources and aid sustainable development. After all, we would not want our future generations to build houses among the litter.