: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

As we are heading towards a modernized culture, we tend to possess more and more goods those are good to show off rather than helping us. These items are good to see but are useless and hence becomes a part of dirt when it looses its lusture. In this essay we will discuss the reasons for production of rubbish and government initiatives that will help us to reduce it. Firstly, with the increase in per capita income of families, people are inclined towards purchasing articles that suits the ambiance of home. For example, for storage home makers prefer buying plastic boxes which after a while, looses its shine and is no longer attractive to watch. This leads the storages boxes to dustbins. These plastics take over 99 years to disintegrate into soils, polluting the lands. Secondly, the debris gathered from the reconstruction or sites, roads, etc. Nowaday, it's fashion to renovate the buildings and roads every second year. These constructions indulge in heavy amount of waste production which is used as a landfill at many places. Thus, degrading the land value. For example, the road maintenance body scrapes the roads every March to rebuild the roads and these scraps are used to fill the nearby low lands. The governing bodies can take various measures to decrease this large amount of byproducts by inculcating few rules. It can levy taxes on purchase of non degradable plastics, which will ensure that the public is consuming right type of products. Aditionally, it can charge heafty amount on reconstruction of sites before 5 years of its erection. To conclude, we should try to reduce production of filth around us to create a better environment for today and tomorrow. The ruling bodies can equally contribute in framing a better life for all the residents.