Nowadays, traffic is becoming a global issue. What are its causes and effects? How can it be controlled?

Owing to increased number of cars, road traffic has become an international problem. It has multiple causes and has resulted in a surge of air pollution. There are several ways to control it like improving public transport. The ever increasing figure of vehicles on roads has been responsible for the traffic problems. The reason behind this may be easy affordability by the general public. The leasing of cars by several banks and easy instalments' have convinced people to purchase the cars. Previously, they could not afford to but these vehicles as they could not make full payment. Now a small amount is deducted from the salary and a lot of low income group manages to own their personal cars. The working couples may be another reason for the increase transport congestion. Previously, there used to be a single family car which was owned by family head or father and everyone used to use it but now with the increase in working couples both of them need their own cars to go to the office. The traffic congestion is responsible for ever increasing air pollution. The exhaust from cars produces carbon dioxide and from old car's carbon monoxide, which is responsible for global warming. This has become an emergency throughout the world as the release of a large amount of greenhouse gases has resulted in damage to ozone layer which protects us against the ultraviolet radiations which are harmful. These gases have resulted in acid rain in certain areas of the earth, hence destroying the forests and trees. The transport congestion can be controlled in several ways, but the most important is improving public transport. If the government introduces and improves the public transport like metro, trams and make them available to the general public, people would use these rather than cars. The reduction in number of cars on roads would mean reduced emission of harmful gases and consequently decreased air pollution. Another solution might be a restriction on the number of cars that a family can own. For instance, nowadays everyone in the family, owns his own vehicle, but a minimum number should be implemented to reduce the tendency of purchasing cars. In conclusion, road traffic contributing to air pollution is burning issue in todays world and the world powers should join hands in collaboration in order to have an effective control on it.