Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society.

It is considered that the increasing reports of media about issues and emergencies would do harm to citizens and society as a whole. Although this current can affect people in some positive ways, I thoroughly agree that this development can be disadvantageous for certain reasons. To begin with, the media has widespread and profound influence on our lives. Therefore, the high intensity of undesirable news can have a significant impact on human as it can make individuals more pessimistic about their lives. In this day and age, there are a lot of pressure stem from the burdens of finance, family and others that people have to deal with; therefore the fact that journalists report daily about the unexpected circumstances can push more annoyance on individuals, and it can eventually result in people commit to suicide to unburden everything. For instance, in Japan, due to the high level of density of problems’ reports, 80% of citizens admitted to being exposed to the thinking of suicide at least once. Furthermore, the growth of gloomy reports might make citizens sceptical about the ability of government and relative authorities. This is because those negative news constantly reported as proof of the uselessness of governments, regardless of their efforts to stop and prevent the situations. Likewise, the citizens might be distrustful about the safety of their country due to these types of reports. In short, apart from individuals, governments and the society as the whole can be negatively affected. To conclude, I believe that undesirable news can have a great degree of influence individually and the whole society. Hopefully, in the time ahead, there will be less undesirable reports as people can concentrate on the positive developments.