Nowadays there is a trend that media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Some people think that it is harmful to individual and societies.

It is true that in the current era print and electronic media mostly broadcasts news on environmental, social and economic and other issues rather than highlighting progress that has been made. It is commonly believed by some people it is detrimental to people and societies and I completely agree with them. To commence, listening to negative news have bad impact on masses. It is a human nature that if people are presented with only dark and gloomy picture of their surroundings, they will ultimately feel frustrated and may suffer from depression and anxiety. Therefore, it is crucial that in order to promote positive attitude, TV and radio ought to on-air reporting about good things rather than bad. Otherwise, citizens will loose hope and this can raise statistics of depression patients at hospitals. For instance, a study found out that as a result of the most of the reporting comprising of negativity, 50% of the cases of anxiety increased in Pakistan in 2018. Moreover, if media only focuses on presenting issues about a society or country, it can severely damage the profile of these. Other nations will feel insecure and unsafe those places to visit about which negative reporting is being made. Consequently, this can make bad image of them resultantly, will affect it's tourism industry. One best example of this is the news which were broadcasted about the bomb blasts, thefts and other problems in Pakistan. As a result, it raised security concerns among foreigners and tourism reduce by 80% in this country. To conclude, I completely agree with this opinion that on-airing negative reporting not only create feelings of frustration among people, but it also have a negative effect on the economy and societies as a whole by distorting their reputation.